Cuba Libre – Passing through Havana again

Chapter 5 of the journey will be brief.  This includes just a few snaps taken on our way back to Havana, and local to our hotel in Havana, for our overnight stay before travelling on to Cienfuegos on the next day.

Refuelling?

This looked like family transport to me and I guess this was a refuelling stop.  This picture also reminded me that it is not unusual to find a horse drawn wagon in the fast lane of a motorway in Cuba.
Apartments

I can’t remember exactly where I saw this, but it is fairly typical of a suburban apartment block.
Bus and Taxi

I grabbed this shot as it is typical of the mechanised transport in Cuba.  The truck modified as a bus would be used for commuter transport over fair distances, whilst the tricycle taxi is common around town.
Church

I can’t remember the name of this church, but it was quite close to the Hotel Occidental Miramar and could be seen from our room.  What struck me was the large size of it.

Cuban Elephant

Don’t say that there are no elephants in Cuba.  Here is proof that there are.  In fact, the sculptures are made from the scrap steel, from cars I think, once they are past ongoing recycling as cars.  The young Cuban boy was very fascinated by these elephant sculptures, playing amongst them for some time.
Not a Pink Cadillac

Not a ‘Pink Cadillac’, but just another Shiny Chevy.  They must have the facility for re-chrome plating somewhere in Cuba.  I wonder how expensive it is.

The next Chapter will be from our time in the south of the island.  I may not be able to produce it for a couple of weeks.  Please check back.

5 thoughts on “Cuba Libre – Passing through Havana again

    • Thanks for continuing to follow my Cuba story. These shots were really just snaps to record some elements of the trip. The apartment block is typical of so many blocks built after the revolution, with Russian help and to Russian design. Generally speaking these use precast (prefabricated) procedures to keep the cost of building down. This results in rather ‘ugly’ structures, but they are not untypical of those built in many countries during the 1960s. Since the ‘fall of communism’ in Russia, most Russians have pulled out of Cuba. I’m afraid that these buildings do not age well but the Cuban economy is so weak that I suspect they will be there for some time yet.

      Like

      • Thank you for you reply.I learned a lot. Precast is also usual in Japan.
        It doesn’t need much workers.
        By the way I just started to learn Spanish.So Cuba is one of the countries I want to visit someday.
        Adios.

        Like

  1. Very nice photos. I saw the elephants a couple of years ago and was blown away! Did you notice the tire inflation stems all over them? It appeared to me that they were over inflated, and then evacuated with a vacuum pump which partially collapsed them and gave them the natural wrinkled skin look that i thought was way cool.

    Good work. Another note- many of those Russian apartments were built with prison labor and are notoriously shoddy. My suegra lives in one in Alamar where there are hundreds of them.

    Like

    • Thanks for your kind comment. Yes, I did notice the tyre inflation connectors, but I didn’t understand their purpose. Your theory does make some sense and may well be their purpose.

      I didn’t realise that prison labour was used during the building of these apartmants. This was, however, an era when poor quality apartments were being built in many countries around the world.

      Thanks again for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

