Kites

A few weeks ago it was the annual Eggerdon Kite Festival.  This year I had other commitments so I couldn’t go.  I did go last year though, so I thought I would post a few images from then.

A kite festival seems like a great photo opportunity, but I found when I tried to make good images, that it wasn’t that easy.  True there is a lot of colour.  The trouble is that the kites are up there and the people and fun are on the ground.  Wider angle shots that try to take it all in don’t do justice to the kites.  Then there is the movement, which a still camera doesn’t capture, which can be a shame at times.  Well, I opted to leave video to the film makers, so I will have to live with it, and I can.

Here are a few shots from that day which I hope give some idea of the fun being enjoyed.  One thing was for sure.  It wasn’t just the children flying kites.

Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_10
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_1
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_14
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_13
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_12
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_11
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_8

This one needed video to show these contra-rotating kites on a single line.

The next two shots could also have used video.  These 5 kites were being flown by 5 members of a club, and they were performing a kind of kite ballet.
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_9
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_3
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_7
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_2
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_6
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_5
Eggerdon Hill Kite Festival 2010_4

Well that’s it.  Everyone, young and old, were definitely having fun.

One last point.  I didn’t see any collisions or tangled lines.  Miracle or what?

One thought on “Kites

Leave a Reply

