Why blog?

Why blog?  This is a very good question.  I’m sure all ‘bloggers’ have different reasons for why they do it.  I can only speak for myself, but I suspect that my own reasons are changing with time anyway.

I’ve not been ‘blogging’ for long.  When I started, I think I saw it as a bit of a challenge and a way of having my own web presence, although why I needed a ‘web presence’ I’m still not sure.  It is still a challenge, as I have an awful lot to learn if I am to make my blog as interesting as many others out there.

I also saw it as a way of sharing some of my thousands of photographs collected over the years, rather than just letting them sit on my hard drive, unseen.

I started off with the idea of using shots from some of our recent touring holidays to tell a brief picture story of those holidays in case anyone was interested or was considering visiting those destinations.  I will continue with this, but it means that many of the images used are no better than the ‘snapshots’, that they are.

Although I am only an amateur photographer, I would also like to share some of my better images.  Ideally this would be by presenting a portfolio of any images that I really liked.  I haven’t yet worked out how to do that satisfactorily in a blog  Flickr doesn’t do it, as it includes all the ‘snapshots’ that I put in my posts.  I think it may be necessary to spend money to achieve it, and as an amateur I can’t really justify that.  Life is so complicated.

Having started blogging though, I am also really enjoying the opportunity to look at the work of other bloggers.  I am finding much of their work inspiring and hope that I can follow their lead.  I am slowly building a list of photographers whose work I really appreciate and from whom I think I can learn.

Why did I write this?  I have no idea. Perhaps it is to justify why I want to continue.

Let’s finish with a picture as it is supposed to be a ‘photo blog’.

Neck and Neck

I like this one.  It has been lurking on Flickr for a bit.  It was taken at Kimmeridge Bay, Dorset.  I entered it in a Club Competition titled ‘Sporting Action’ and it did quite well.  I think it displays action quite well.  It was fairly tricky to get separation between the two windsurfers, but I managed it.  Sadly the sky in the original was very bland, so I pinched one that I had in another image and stuck it in.  This was a challenge because I really didn’t have a clue what I was doing.  I followed a tutorial and it seemed to work out sort of ok.

2 thoughts on “Why blog?

  1. I agree… as long as it’s fun and means something to you! For me, photography is something I love to do, along w/a bit of talking, if you will, and blogging keeps me “honest” (ie, anyone can click and take thousands of photos, but blogging, or even putting in an album gives me the discipline to look at my work more objectively… I hope). Enjoy yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

