The Thaw

We photographers do sometimes take some strange photos.  I was looking back through some of my images on Flickr last night, and found this one from nearly two years ago, of a melting icicle on a tree in our garden.  I can remember that at the time I really wanted to get this image.  Now it is rather harder to understand why.  When I think back, I believe that it was all about the challenge of catching that drip as there isn’t much artistic merit to the shot.

The Thaw

I do remember that it took a good few exposures before I managed to catch the drip and get some separation between the drip and the icicle.  It would have been nice to have had a bit more separation though.  One might think that it was a long wait between drips, and that this would make the task even harder.  I must confess to having cheated a little on this.  The method I used to make this drip at fairly rapid and regular intervals was to ‘mist’ the icicle with water from an old household cleaner spray.  This saved a lot of time and frustration.

13 thoughts on “The Thaw

  1. that’s a really cool image (and agree, not “cheating” at all). You’d mentioned “gale” in a comment before, and so I’m guessing you’re somewhere in the midwest. So probably more opportunity for this kind of image soon if you want 😉

    Like

  2. I don’t think that “Now it is rather harder to understand why.” at all ->>> this is a >>>stunning piece of simple, natural, minimalistic beauty, extremely well photographed – for me, its simply the best photo of your’s I’ve seen. It could very very easily adorn my living room wall. It is absolutely beautiful – what more can I say? Adrian

    Like

  3. I love drop shots and macro. I still have a lot to learn on this aspect of photography and your blog is a great source of inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

