I’m rather overwhelmed.

Firstly, thanks to MariAnne for nominating me for The Versatile Blogger award.  I’m rather overwhelmed by this, and maybe a little concerned as to how I should respond.  By looking at the posts of MariAnne, and other nominees, I understand that the rules are as follows:-

1.  Thank the person who nominated you.

2.  Add the ‘Versatile Blogger’ image to your post.

3.  Nominate 15 other bloggers, adding links to their sites, and let them know that you have nominated them.

4.  Share 7 random facts about yourself.

This all seems easy enough.

As I said above, I was also a little concerned about how I should respond.  Fundamentally, I have always been a bit uncomfortable about ‘chain letter’ type correspondence.  However, in this particular instance I can see that it is all about bloggers supporting other bloggers, and that is good.  I decided, therefore, to press ahead with the necessary actions to accept the nomination.

As I created my list of nominees, which consisted of bloggers who’s blogs I had found interesting and valuable, I discovered that many of them had already been nominated for this award.  I thought that many of these excellent blogs might well be nominated over and over again, and that their authors could well eventually end up less than ecstatic with being nominated.  It took me all my spare time over three days, to arrive at the conclusion that it would be better for all, if I politely declined the nomination, and concentrated my available spare time into my hobby of photography, hopefully with a little bit of blogging thrown in.

My apologies to any potential nominees who may not already have received this nomination.  I just found it too time consuming trying to research who had received it in the past, and who hadn’t.  I hope that this breach of blogging etiquette doesn’t mean that my readers desert me, but if they do, then I can only say that I am sorry.

Finally then, a sincere apology to MariAnne for declining this nomination and continuing with the process.  I was overwhelmed by the nomination, but I must conclude that it was not really justified.  I’m not versatile enough.

8 thoughts on “I’m rather overwhelmed.

  1. I sympathise entirely. I find myself in a similar situation and totally overwhelmed. I have been nominated for two awards and then Freshly Pressed. I have had over 10,000 hits on my site in four days and did start to attempt to reply to all the comments; it’s impossible. Keep contributing and I for one will continue to follow your blog.

    Like

    • Thank you for your support David. I was only overwhelmed by the nomination, but my goodness, 10,000 hits in four days would completely overwhelm anyone. Congratulations though, for the two awards and the Freshly Pressed. I think my action will ensure that it doesn’t happen to me. Dave.

      Like

  2. Yeah, I know what you mean. I was nominated 4 times in 2 weeks and still don’t know how to respond. THe whole award thing lacks certain things that one would think appropriate for such a thing. Like rules for how to select a blog to nominate. Anyway, I’m right there with you.

    Like

    • Thanks Rob. I’m glad I’m not the only one who couldn’t work out the best way to respond. I feel a bit of a ‘spoilsport’ really, but after a few days of worrying about who to nominate, I decided to back out.

      Like

  3. Oh please don’t anyone nominate me !!!!!!!! David Hall… you had the good fortune/misfortune of being left on the freshly pressed page over the holiday so sort of got a double dose… your blog is very good though! dave I will definitely contnue to read 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

