Better late than never.

I have just passed through my first New Year since I started blogging.  Better late than never, I should do a quick review of my experiences of 2011.

First though, a sincere but belated Happy New Year to anyone who has read, and is continuing to read this blog.

I started blogging late in July 2011, and that was with considerable trepidation.  My youngest son suggested that a WordPress.com blog would be an inexpensive way of sharing my photography online if that was what I wanted to do.  To be honest, I was pretty scared about what I was getting into when I started.

“What to start with?” was the first question.  Since my initial idea had been to use blogging as a way of revisiting and sharing some of the photos that I had taken during holiday travels, I decided to start with our most recent trip, which was titled ‘Cuba Libre’ by the tour company.  This started in Havana and went on for 10 episodes, which were interspersed with a variety of other posts, as random thoughts and photos came to mind.

The travel theme continued with the ‘In the Footsteps of Livingstone‘ trip to Zambia and Botswana.  This lasted for an epic 24 posts and has only just finished.  To provide a little light relief for myself, I continued to insert a few random posts.  One of those posts was Why Blog.  It was written after about three months of blogging, when I was trying to resolve in my mind whether I should continue.  The thoughts that I expressed then still stand I think.

What have I learned since then?

I have learned that I still enjoy blogging, but I have recognised that it has been taking up too much of my time.  I need to become more efficient, so that I can still find time to get out and ‘do photography’, as well as keep up with my other responsibilities.  This is obviously one of my New Year Resolutions, though I don’t know how the hell I am going to achieve it.

Also in conflict with this is the desire to improve the appearance of my blog.  Learning how to do this will need more time invested, which I haven’t got.

I have learned that the ‘blogosphere’ is full of many really friendly people, readily prepared to offer support and encouragement, and I thank them for this.  I seem to have picked up a few ‘followers’ over the period and to them I say “Thank You”.  I hope they will ‘stay with me’.

I have also learned that there is a vast amount of entertaining and educational material posted in the ‘blogosphere’, just waiting to be stumbled upon.  When really good blogs are spotted, then it is natural to follow them, but again this takes time, particularly when comments are appropriate.

By the end of 2011 I had posted 64 times, which averaged about 3 posts per week if I take out the period when we were away for 2 weeks.  I don’t think I will be able to keep that rate up in 2012, even though I see that many bloggers post daily.

I’m not going to post a photo this time.  I will be starting another holiday travel series soon, this time on our trip to Vietnam nearly two years ago.  I hope some of you will find this worth following.

Thanks again to all my new friends and do have a Happy and Successful New Year.

Dave

9 thoughts on “Better late than never.

  1. I know exactly what you mean when you talk about how much time it takes to blog, and keep up with other blogs that you follow. I am in the same position myself, but I wouldn’t give it up for the world now that I have started. On top of that, I am finding so many really talented people in the blogosphere, such as yourself.

    Like

  2. Yeah it’s a lot of work, isn’t it, but also a labor of love. As for me, when I get tired of all the talking and posting and all, then I just stop and take a rest. Otherwise it becomes a chore, and I’d rather look forward to posting something than feeling like it’s an obligation. Happy 2012!

    Like

  3. Dave, this is an interesting read >>> and the more so since I totally agree with your view that blogging takes up too much time – I’m finding exactly the same thing. In particular I’m finding that I’m flooded by emails from blogs I subscribe to, such that I don’t have enough time (I have a full time job … which may be deleted soon!) either for photography itself or for working on photos (which I very much enjoy) before posting them.

    So I’m coming around to the view that I’ll fairly soon reduce my subscriptions to other blogs, keeping only those that I really value either for friendship or for photographic quality – and you’ll be in this core – you not getting out of things as easily as that! I have to give this more thought, but this does seem to be the way forward.

    I have no doubt that my blogging has improved my photography, by the way, and I thoroughly enjoy the contact wiith like minds.

    One thing that you can do re blogging taking up too much time is to post fewer pics per post – I used to do 5 pics per post, and each post was quite a job. Now, usually only posting 1 pic per post, things are much easier. Also, havingh only 1 pic per post, the reader’s attention is concentrated onto that pic and its much easier for them to comment on it.

    If you’re thinking about your front page, take a look at mine. Its been through several permutations, but I’ve simply ended up with some of my best photos, recent posts, and one or two other minor things.

    Hope these thoughts are useful. Adrian

    Like

    • Hi Adrian. Yes, these thoughts are useful and it is encouraging to know that I am not the only person struggling to make time. I’m already fully retired and in some ways, at the moment, with Dee still working, it is easy to fall into the trap of sitting at the computer either editing or blogging. This will have to end in March when she also retires fully. The truth is, that I do enjoy it, which also aggravates the situation.

      I had already decided that I was going to try to produce shorter posts. I have made some of my ‘bits and pieces’ posts quite short and they don’t take as much time to produce. I’m going to try to break the travel ones down into shorter posts as well, but this can be quite difficult. My second Vietnam post being a case in point. It is nice to put in enough photos to illustrate that bit of the story.

      Reading and commenting the blogs of others needs to be done properly, and this can also take time.

      Well, I’m not giving up yet and I am grateful for the valuable contributions that you have made to help me.

      Dave

      Like

  4. The blog world is new to me too and just like yourself I have noticed that I spend more time in front of WordPress than was my intention. Part of this time is the exploration of other bloggs which comes with this new discovery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

