Tracks

There’s not much in this photo.  Well actually there are a hell of a lot really, pebbles that is.  No, what I mean is that there is not a lot of actual ‘content’ in the image.  When I saw it, I liked the diagonal human tracks travelling through the frame and disappearing over the top, and thought that the piece of driftwood was just enough to balance the image and make it a worthy picture.  I think the main flaw with this picture is the position of the sun and the fact that it doesn’t cast enough shadow into the tracks.  I would have liked to make the tracks stand out a bit more using post processing, but I couldn’t work out how to do this without spoiling the texture of the pebbles.  Any tips for increasing the contrast in the tracks without changing the current appearance of the pebbles would be well received.

Tracks

This was shot on the south side of the Chesil Bank, not far from the Isle of Portland.

9 thoughts on “Tracks

  1. That’s what photographers do, find the best way to capture the image you’ve captured in your mind. Sometimes it’s a bit difficult but seems like you did the right thing and the abstract was done! What I do sometimes is shoot the camera with both arms extended over my head and will document the scene from higher angle. You would have been able to see the foot prints with better depth helped by the inside shadow. Isn’t it fun? I love it! 🙂

    Like

  2. I like it too. But if you want to play withthecontrast of the footprints, you might do a search on ‘luminosity masks.’. I only heard about them myself yesterday and haven’t experimented with it yet. But what it allows you to do is create a mask of just the light or dark areas of an image and apply adjustments to only those areas. If you give it a go, I’ll be interested to see how it works out.

    Like

    • Thanks MariAnne. I’ve had a very quick look and it certainly appears interesting. I am pretty much a dummy when it comes to Photoshop though, so I don’t know whether I will be able to get the hang of this process, but I will try. I think I may need to jump a few other hurdles though before I even get to ‘luminosity masks’. If I do get there though, I will certainly post the result. Thanks again and watch this space.

      Like

      • haha Dave, I don’t know what I’m doing with Photoshop either. I pretty much stumble on things and then struggle to figure out how to make them work and when to use them!

        Like

  3. Oh my that’s a nice picture, Dave! The more I look at it the more I see, and the more I like it! The plain blue of the sky is beautiful, the horizon slightly slopes, the piece of driftwood is exactly in the right place, and so is the line of footprints – I could very easily see that on my living room wall!

    I’m not sure about how to emphasise the footprints – ??? more contrast??? – or of course waiting for lower sun! But this image as it is is simply beautiful – and that’s both wonderfully Minimalist and wonderfully beautiful! Adrian

    Like

    • Thanks Adrian. It’s maybe alright, but it’s not that good! Waiting for a lower sun – maybe, but as the Chesil Bank faces SW and is pretty steep, I don’t know whether it would have generated much more shadow mid February, which was when it was taken. Ref. The Photographer’s Ephemeris shows sunset not far off SW at that time of year. I probably needed to be there at sunrise. I might try MariAnne’s suggestion, if I can work out how. Dave

      Like

Leave a Reply

