Postcard from Weymouth

Very soon now, Weymouth Bay will be the centre of attention for Olympic Sailing.  Although I only live about 45 minutes away, and used to be a keen sailor, I doubt whether I will get to see much of the sailing in real life.  I expect that any that I do see, will be on the TV.  Don’t get me wrong.  I will try to get a feel of the atmosphere of the Olympic Sailing.  I may be able to get some distant views of it from suitable spots along the coast.  What I do know, however, is that I will not be fighting with the traffic congestion and parking charges of Weymouth to see it.  In any case, I understand that all the best ‘public’ viewing spots will be closed to the public for the duration.

Although I am still interested in sailing, to be honest, it isn’t a great spectator sport.  The images of the fleets will be spectacular but, from a sporting point of view, it is difficult to follow from the shore.  Sailing is very much a sport for the participants.

Postcard from Weymouth

We were in Weymouth yesterday, so here is a postcard photo with a little sailing as well.

7 thoughts on “Postcard from Weymouth

    • Thank you Tricia. It is great to be back and appreciating all the good work done by others like yourself.

      Weymouth seafront architecture is predominantly Georgian, the town having developed as a resort to a large extent because it was a favourite haunt of King George III. Perhaps a bit more on Weymouth sometime soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

