An evening at the farm

Every so often, some local photographers are given the chance to visit Bower Hinton Farm and its Farm Shop.  I’ve been before, a couple of years ago, but we had another chance this last Tuesday, so I was keen to attend.  The visit was arranged by Keith of the Yeo Photo Group, his main intention and that of some of the photographers being further honing of their lighting skills for portrait work.

This farm is, however, an Aladdin’s Cave of photo opportunity, so for anyone not into portrait photography, it was still very well worth the visit.  It would be impossible not to find some attractive subjects around the farm buildings, which are full of tractors and farm machinery.  Some areas of the sheds are also full of what can politely be described as miscellaneous objects, which have laid there for years.  There is also the Farm Shop and Coffee Shop, which is worth a look.

Here are a few of the many photos that I took whilst there.

Dilapidation

This portion of a rather dilapidated outbuilding wall was the first thing that caught my eye.

Cracked Paint

Cracked Paint

Followed by these ‘cracked paint’ textures.

A major part of the farm’s business is the growing of vegetables.  I guess that the stacks of plastic were destined for the harvesting and supply of these vegetables to retailers and their own Farm Shop.  I though that they were worth a snap.

Stacked

Lurking at the back of one of the barns was this Tiger ‘kit car’.  It was pretty dark at the back of the barn, so I only grabbed this one monochrome shot of its cockpit.

Tiger Cockpit

Chatting to Duncan, the farm owner, I discovered that it was powered by a Triumph Dolomite Sprint engine.

Duncan asked me whether I would like to take a look at his strawberry  polytunnel, so I though why not?  This proved to be very educating as I had previously only been aware of strawberries grown in fields, and kept out of the mud by a bed of straw.  Duncan had his strawberries supported at shoulder height which is ideal for picking and keeps them away from disease, though not from persistent blackbirds.  I think he said that the plants are watered and fed five times a day.  I was also surprised to discover that these strawberry plants were initially supplied frozen.  This enables them to crop very soon after planting.

Polytunnel

Strawberries

Strawberries

For a later crop, he had a similar growing arrangement on trestles outside the polytunnel.

The farm cat decided to pose for the camera as I was walking back from the strawberries.

Farm Cat

I though I had better go and look at how the wedding dress photography was going on.  Some of us didn’t have the ideal lens and needed to get closer.

Need to get in closer

The Wedding Dress

One day I will get around to removing the power lines.

Next it was time for a cup of tea, but while waiting for it, I took a few shots around the Farm Shop.  It looks very tasty.

Preserves

Wine

Wine

After tea it was back outside before the light failed completely, but it was also time to get the flash out for this Cow Parsley shot.

Cow Parsley

The lighting experts were setting up for some fancy portrait work as can be seen in this last shot.

Let there be light

Well that’s it from this visit to the farm, but if other opportunities present themselves, I will certainly try to get back.

8 thoughts on “An evening at the farm

  1. Good pictures, Dave! I especially like the second one down – wonderful abstract! And the pile of plastic crates. And the polytunnel is an exceptionally strong image – have you tried mono? – and I like the portraits of strawberries too, especially the lower one of the two – good stuff! Adrian

    Like

Leave a Reply

