Those Magnificent Men 1

It’s the airshow season, but for a variety of reasons, I haven’t been to one so far this year.  Since I was a boy, I have always been completely captivated by aircraft.  My Dad used to take me to Farnborough Airshow back in the 1950s, aeromodelling was my main hobby as a youngster and I ended up working in the industry for 44 years.  I have, therefore, retained my interest, though perhaps not with quite the enthusiasm that I had when I was younger.  It’s not quite the same when it is work!

Anyway, whether I’ve been to an airshow this year or not, I thought that I might make a few posts on the flying theme, using images from the archive.  I hope some of you are also interested.  I also hope that other bloggers already into the airshow theme this year don’t mind me joining them.

This first image is from Yeovilton Air Day 2009, when the weather was pretty grim.  Several aircraft were unable to display properly because of the low cloud base.  The Hawker Nimrod was not affected too much by the weather, and this one of it landing after its display is one of my favourites.

Happy Landings

Happy Landings.

It’s important not to confuse this aircraft with the maritime patrol aircraft, the Hawker Siddeley Nimrod.  The Hawker Nimrod is a 1930s fighter designed as a carrier based aircraft.  Much more information about this aircraft can be found via Wikipedia.

I’ll be back in about a week.  I have a few distractions up until then, but please come back.

11 thoughts on “Those Magnificent Men 1

  1. I think that every kid at least in my era wanted to be a pilot! I never missed any WWII films with dog-fights in it! I used to play with the airplane models. 🙂

    Like

  2. Distractions- tell me about it! The Sunderland Airshow is the biggie up our way and we went for many years, but it’s so successful now (and free!) that getting there is a serious chore. Easier to follow TV coverage. Great shot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

