Unexpected Visitor

I was in the garden today, when an unexpected visitor turned up and landed on a Clematis.  It then moved and settled in a sunnier spot and looked as if it was going to stay for a while, so I decided to pop into the house for a camera.  Here are a couple of shots of my visitor, which I think is a Migrant Hawker (Aeshna mixta), at least that was the best match in my ‘little book’ of British Wildlife.

Migrant Hawker (Aeshna mixta)

Migrant Hawker (Aeshna mixta)

This Dragonfly was quite happy for me to shoot away from close range for as long as I liked.  In the end, I got bored and went for lunch.

Olympus E-520, 50mm prime lens.  Because I grabbed the camera in a hurry, I forgot to check the ISO, which unfortunately had been left at 400.  Still, this helped to keep the shutter speed up and as the Clematis was blowing around in the wind a bit, this may have been useful.  At least that is what I’m telling myself.

Dragonflies are a great subject and my ambition is to get a reasonable shot of one in flight.  I suspect, however, that I may never achieve this.  In the meantime I have to settle for photographing them when ‘perched’, and some of these images from Botswana can be found here, here, here and here. 

19 thoughts on “Unexpected Visitor

    • I agree that the leaves are a bit of a distraction Terry, but as I wasn’t planning to use these pics anywhere other than here, I didn’t think they were worth too much post processing time and effort. To do it well would require much more skill than I have as well. Thanks for the advice anyway.

      Like

Leave a Reply

