Cuba Revisited

Last night I watched ‘Cuba with Simon Reeve’, on BBC television.  Many of the places visited by this programme were ones that Dee and I also visited on holiday in February 2011.  The programme set out to look at how the Cuban economy has changed in the last two years, and I must confess to being quite surprised at how things have actually moved on.  When we were there, Cubans didn’t expect to see much difference, even though some degree of economic liberalisation was anticipated.  Now, Cubans can buy and sell property legally (see this link), something unimaginable 2 years ago.

I’m glad that we went when we did, as Castro’s Cuba certainly seems to be changing, albeit slowly.

Visually, the programme refreshed my recollection of that excellent holiday, so I thought I would take this opportunity to link back to the series of posts that I started in July last year.  Perhaps this may be of interest to anyone that wasn’t following my blog then.  The start of the series can be found here.

One photo from the original series.

Iglesia y Convento de San Francisco

7 thoughts on “Cuba Revisited

    • Don’t expect to see huge change yet. Cubans still seem pretty ‘laid back’, but there are new signs of enterprise showing through. The programme is worth a watch, if only to revisit your trip. Definitely worth revisiting your photos as well, and maybe posting a few(?).

      Like

  1. Cuba has long been a place I’ve wanted to visit. I’ve been interested in Che Guevara and the history of the area since I was at school, and it looks such a rich place, photographically speaking. It sounds like I need to get my skates on.

    Like

    • It is definitely well worth a visit Mike. Although things are changing, from watching the TV programme I referred to, I think the change is fairly slow at the moment. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

