Elephants 4 – Watched by an Oryx (Mono)

This is the fourth post in this elephant series and again, I have gone straight for the monochrome treatment.  I may post the colour version if anybody asks for it, but at the moment I feel drawn into presenting B&W elephants because I think this treatment really works for them.

I think that the elephant framed between the watching Oryx and the Zebra herd seems to work quite well but it is a pity about the Zebra back growing out of the Elephants neck.  Should I have cloned it out?  I couldn’t do anything about it when shooting, since I couldn’t move the vehicle that we were in.  This photo was also taken at the same nearly dried up water hole in the Etosha National Park, Namibia and is another example of the Etosha White Elephant.  Perhaps that might have been clearer in a colour image.

White Elephant, Kudu and Zebra (mono)I haven’t mentioned it in the other elephant posts so far but, by today’s standards, these are a bit ‘pixel limited’ by the Sony DSC-H1 and its 5 MP resolution.  I don’t think it shows too much though.  More elephants will follow, but if you haven’t seen the earlier ones they are easy to find from the list of recent posts.

3 thoughts on “Elephants 4 – Watched by an Oryx (Mono)

Leave a Reply

