Those Magnificent Men 5 – Supermarine Spitfire/Seafire

It’s time I posted another in my ‘Those Magnificent Men’ series.

I was looking at the blog of Simon Bowler today, where he had posted a rather nice photo of a Supermarine Spitfire Mk IXb.  This reminded me, that I hadn’t posted a Spitfire picture image here, so I had a look in the archives.  I now realise why.  It is simply because I don’t have any to post.  Still, having got this far, I thought that I might as well post some of a Supermarine Seafire, spotted at RNAS Yeovilton Airday in 2009.  This aircraft is a Seafire Mk XVII and although the appearance is very similar to a Spitfire, it is heavily modified for shipborne operations.  I think it is fair to say that it was not as successful in this role as the Spitfire was in the land based role.  It’s still a beautiful sight though.

There are many better images of this aircraft to be seen online.  These are the best that I had available.

Earlier images in my ‘Those Magnificent Men’ series can be found by using the ‘search’ facility.

4 thoughts on “Those Magnificent Men 5 – Supermarine Spitfire/Seafire

    • Thanks Suzanne. The weather was pretty bad that day, so the shots could have been better with a bit more light. I agree with you about the sound of the Merlin engine. The sound of the Griffon, as I think was fitted to this mark of Seafire, was also pretty good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

