Fisheye Fun – 1

I knew when I bought it that it was not going to be for ‘serious’ photography, but I must admit that I do quite enjoy using my little Samyang fisheye lens.  It does produce some quite ‘daft’ images but it can also produce pictures that cannot be easily made in any other way.  There will be a series of rather odd images going forward into the future until either I get tired of the lens, or I start getting really discouraging comments to my posts.

First off is a rather silly ‘panoramic’ picture of Lyme Regis harbour, taken from the Cobb.  Why did I take it?  Well I must admit, it was probably because I could.  It is completely unrealistic, but it does get the entire harbour into one shot.

Lyme Regis Harbour through a fisheye lens.

Lyme Regis Harbour through a fisheye lens.

I did find that one side effect of the fisheye lens was the possibility of getting odd bits of fingers and thumbs into the frame.  I needed to clone part of a finger out of this shot!

3 thoughts on “Fisheye Fun – 1

  1. Oh blow “serious” photography, my friend, get out there and enjoy yourself, that’s what its all about! To me, a fisheye is not something to be used all the time, the effects will soon pale, but mine certainly has a very solid place in my kit, I wouldn’t be without it >>> go for it, Dave, and if you get distortions, well that’s all a part of it! Adrian

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

