The Age of Steam

I haven’t posted anything for a month, and I have also struggled to find time to visit the blogs that I follow, so the first thing that I must do is apologise to all my blogging friends.  To be honest, I suspect that the next few months will also find me with little time, so any posts will be even more sporadic than usual.  Keeping up with the ‘reader’ may also be a challenge. I did however get the chance to go out with the camera for a few hours this week, and largely because I thought the weather would be better in that direction, we popped down to Corfe Castle for a ‘breath of fresh air’.  As it happened, the weather may have been better at home, but at least the weather stayed dry, but cold.  We hadn’t been around the castle for many years, so we took a quick look, but being ‘half term’, it was pretty crowded with kids, swarming all over it, so not much in the way of photos.  It was cold up in the castle, so next stop was a warming cuppa, after which we did a lap of the village, ending up at the Railway Station.  We had never visited this before, and were pleasantly surprised to find that there was one train running on the Swanage Railway because it was ‘half term’.  We had a wander around, chatting to the Station staff, and waited for the 15:20 from Swanage to come through.  Here are a few photos, best viewed by clicking on the first one and displaying a slide show.

Thanks for taking a look.  I hope you will come back again when I post some more of my photos.

4 thoughts on “The Age of Steam

  1. Smashing Dave! Corfe Castle is on my list of places to visit but, it’s also one of those places that is so often photographed, you wonder if you can bring anything new to it.. that’s a real challenge.

    Like

    • Thanks Adrian. You’re right about the Castle. It’s a challenge to get a great image, though there are many images of the castle out there, taken from all the surrounding hill tops. I haven’t managed a good one yet, probably because I’m not good at early mornings. I’ll never make a ‘landscape photographer’! 🙂 I fancy that the best ones usually involve some morning mist, and the timing seems to be crucial. You already know all this of course. Corfe is only about an hour from me, and I still can’t manage it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

