Jack the Stag

This evening we were privileged to be able to walk, with other Camera Club members, around the South West Deer Centre, run by Mike Gage, at Wayford, on the Somerset/Dorset border.  We were able to get up close and personal with a variety of rescued deer.  I took a lot of photos, which I haven’t yet had time to sort through, but I wanted to post one while the visit was still fresh in mind.

I chose this one of Jack, the Red Deer Stag.  He is 10 years old and is a magnificent beast.

Jack the Stag

There may be some more to come if I can find any half decent ones.

9 thoughts on “Jack the Stag

    • It is amazing when you realise that they have grown in only a couple of months. The state is known as ‘in velvet’. From now until the rut, the antlers will strengthen, and next spring they will drop off and the whole cycle start again.

      Like

Leave a comment